About Kent Credit Union

Who We Are

Kent Credit Union is a State-Chartered Credit Union governed by the State of Ohio and the National Credit Union Administration. Anyone who lives, works, worships, or attends school in Portage County or Summit County, Ohio, is eligible for membership at Kent Credit Union. Others may also qualify for membership [see complete eligibility requirements].

At Kent Credit Union, we take pride in providing the community with superior member service in a wide variety of financial products designed to meet the needs of our families and businesses. Kent Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative organized to provide financial services to our members. It is both owned and controlled by members, with each member having an equal vote and the opportunity to serve on the Board of Directors. Simply stated, we make banking better.

Mission Statement

Kent Credit Union is a community-centered cooperative that creates opportunities for members to achieve personal and financial success.

Our Philosophy

A Financial Partner

Kent Credit Union shall be recognized by its members as not only a provider of financial services, but also a partner in achieving personal and financial success.


In order to build members’ trust with their money, we shall provide constant member reassurance through education, service, and communication.

Honest Counsel

Kent Credit Union recognizes that members look to us as trusted experts for honest financial counsel.

Family Orientation

Families are important to Kent Credit Union and to many of our members, and we recognize that the decisions we make impact the families we serve.

Kent Credit Union’s History

Kent Credit Union was chartered on August 6, 1964. Two of the seven Kent City School employees who chartered Kent Credit Union still serve on the Board of Directors.

Originally housed in a wooden desk in a science classroom at Kent Roosevelt High School, KCU has grown and relocated several times to accommodate that growth. From its modest beginnings at Kent Roosevelt High School, KCU moved to Franklin Avenue, then to Main Street and now resides at 6020 Rhodes Road in Kent. In February of 2000, KCU expanded and opened a second office at 271 South Chestnut Street in Ravenna.

When KCU was first chartered, it served only employees of Kent City Schools. Now, in addition to serving SEGs (Select Employee Groups), we hold a community charter. Anyone who lives, works, attends school, or worships in Portage County or Summit County is eligible to become a member of Kent Credit Union. We currently serve more than 7,000 members.

At Kent Credit Union, our members are our most valuable asset. Kent Credit Union is proud to offer a wide array of products and services designed to meet the individual needs of our members…and we know our members by name. We make banking better!